Highfield Level 2 International Award in Fire Safety

Qualification Overview

The Level 2 Award in Fire Safety is a qualification aimed at anyone involved in the management of fire safety in any workplace. This includes managers, supervisors, team leaders, fire wardens (marshals) and staff working in any area where there is a potential risk of fire. Learners gaining this qualification will know that fire safety is the responsibility of everyone in the workplace and will recognize the consequences of a fire in any premises.

Learning Outcomes Assessment Criteria
The learner will: The learner can:
1   Understand the hazards and risks associated with fire in the workplace 1.1      Explain how fires are caused in the workplace
1.2      Describe the components of the fire triangle
1.3      Identify the hazards during or after a fire, including the products of combustion
1.4      Describe the characteristics of fire and smoke spread
2   Understand how fire risk is controlled in the workplace 2.1      State the different methods used to identify and control fire hazards
2.2      Define the term ‘means of escape’ in relation to fire hazards
2.3      Outline typical components for means of escape from fire hazards
2.4      Describe methods of fire detection and raising the alarm
2.5      Describe the principle of how fires are extinguished
2.6      Describe how portable fire-fighting equipment should be used safely
2.7      Identify common fixed fire-fighting systems and where they might be used
3   Understand the principles and practice of fire safety management at work 3.1      Outline the duties of employers and employees with respect to fire safety in the workplace
3.2      Outline how to undertake a simple fire safety inspection in the workplace
3.3      Describe the stages involved in a fire risk assessment
4   Understand the role of the nominated fire warden 4.1      State the role and function of fire wardens in their workplace:
on a day-to-day basis
during an emergency
if they are not in their designated areas of responsibility when the alarm is raised
4.2      Outline the content of a fire safety briefing.


How the qualification is assessed?

This qualification is assessed by multiple-choice question (MCQ) examination. The examination for this qualification contains 30 questions that must be completed within 1 hour. Successful learners must achieve a minimum pass mark of 18 correct answers (60%). Learners who achieve a pass mark of 21 (70%) correct answers or above will achieve a Merit and those who achieve a pass of 24 (80%) correct answers will be awarded a distinction

Training Locations: Lahore/Karachi/Islamabad (Public/In-House)